Acoustic Lounge

Alone Together

July 8, 2022

Release: 8th July, 2022

Take five contemporary jazz musicians mixing feel-good repertoire and soul-infused grooves and you’ll be some way towards understanding the sound of Danish group Acoustic Lounge whose album Alone Together, is set to release on July 8th on Mingus Records

Following the success of their debut album which garnered over two million streams worldwide, the group is back with a bigger, bolder recorded statement featuring some of Denmark’s most esteemed jazz musicians. 

With its two founders – Mikkel Schnettler and Michael Hartvig – on percussion, the atypical quintet line-up is completed with the smooth, soulful vocals of frontman Søren Baun, celebrated bassist Jesper Bodilsen and saxophonist Claus Waidstløw.

Acoustic Lounge’s sound is relaxed, easy-going, and playful. One hardly notices the omission of a traditional drum kit, as their percussion-heavy sound lays a foundation of rich, latin-influenced grooves. 

The repertoire provides some refreshing interpretations of their diverse program. From well known jazz standards such as the title track ‘Alone Together’ or Jobim’s ‘One Note Samba’, to pop classics like Elvis Presley’s ‘Can’t Help Falling In Love’, to the 21st Century anthem that is Pharrell Williams’ ‘Happy’, the record is united by a sound which makes each song their own. 

The quintet preserves the essence and feeling of each composition and gives them a modern twist, be it through pop and neo-soul harmony, melodic saxophone solos, multi-tracked backing vocals, or entirely original passages of music within songs that every listener will recognize. 

With an extensive touring history in their home country, Acoustic Lounge is made up of some of Denmark’s most celebrated jazz musicians alongside some rising stars of the Scandinavian scene. 

Bassist Jesper Bodilsen, winner of the Django d’Or Prize as ‘Performer of the Year’ in 2004, has toured the world, performing with some of the biggest names in Jazz including Brad Meldau, Bill Frisell, and Gregory Porter. Saxophonist Claus Waidstløw, winner of the Danish Music Awards’ ‘Jazz Composer of the Year’ in 2015 has worked with the likes of John Scofield, Christian McBride, and Maria Schneider to name a few. 

Bandleaders Mikkel Schnettler and Michael Hartvig on percussion are stalwarts of the scene and singer-pianist Søren Baun is known for a broad range of winning musical projects.

Acoustic Lounge

Line up

Søren Baun | piano, vocals
Jesper Bodilsen | bass
Claus Waidtløw | saxophone
Michael Hartvig | percussion
 Mikkel Schnettler | percussion

Track Listing

Alone together (Arthur Schwartz / Howard Dietz)
The Shadow of Your Smile (Johnny Mandel / Paul Francis Webster)
One note samba (Antônio Carlos Jobim / Jon Hendricks)
Black and gold (Sam Sparro / Jesse Rogg)
Happy (Pharrell Williams)
Time Out of Mind (Donald Fagen / Walter Becker)
Can’t Help Falling in Love (Hugo Peretti, Luigi Creatore and George David Weiss)
Ladybird (Tadd Dameron / Stanley Cornfield)
(Nathaniel Irvin III, Charles Joseph II, Antwan Patton, Janelle Monáe Robinson)
What the world needs now
(Burt Bacharach / Hal David)


cutting press

Radio Zachod

cutting press

Jazz Journal

cutting press

Sonic Soul

cutting press



cutting press

Rock The Best Music

cutting press

Soul & Jazz & Funk

cutting press


cutting press

More jazz releases

Check out the other new albums that we're working with right now...